Posts Tagged ‘uk’



UK rockers Arctic Monkeys have released a new track ‘Do I Wanna Know?’ which can be found on iTunes. A new album is expected to be released sometime this year. Let’s hope that means a North American tour to go along with it!

Check out the single below:


Read Full Post »


London’s Hot Chip have released a new one-off single, ‘Dark & Stormy’ out July 22nd in the UK and July 23rd in North America. It’s their first new release since their acclaimed In Our Heads. You can listen to the single below:

The single will be released on vinyl and download via Domino. The North American version will be release on 12″ vinyl and will include remixes of tracks off In Our Heads. Check out the track list below:

1 Dark & Stormy
2 Jelly Babies
3 Doctor
4 Flutes [LP Version]
5 Flutes [Sasha Remix]
6 How Do You Do [Todd Terje Remix]
7 Look at Where We Are [Major Lazer Remix]
8 Night and Day [Daphni remix] [digital only]

Read Full Post »

Post War Years

Post War Years has become an obsession of mine, and unfortunately, they’re one of those bands that are known by few. So… Random reader, meet Post War Years. Post War Years, meet random reader.

The band summed up: Post War Years are childhood friends who formed the band in Royal Leamington Spa (a town in central Warwickshire, England), and eventually, relocated to London. They started off playing standard garage rock and over time morphed into their own, with a unique 80s synth, electronic prog-dance, pop, indie, alternative sound.

What you need to know: In Feb 2013, they released their debut full length album, Galapagos. Before their official release they put out several EP’s and a self released album The Greats and The HappeningsThey’re kind of a secretive band, but the music speaks for itself.

Recommendations: “All Eyes” and “Volcano” were the songs that stuck out for me at first listen, they’re a good starting point for newcomers. It took a couple listens before I fully grasped onto the full album.

Top Songs: “All Eyes”, “Volcano”, “Be Someone”, “The Bell” and “Mellotron” 

“All Eyes”


You can buy Galapagos on iTunes or pick up a physical copy through their online store. 

Update: They released ‘Be Someone’ as a 2013 summer single. Check out a live performance of the song below:

Read Full Post »